Zimbra: Sharing Folders

Zimbra: Sharing Folders

July 6, 2011

One of the advantages you get with using Zimbra is the ability to collaborate with your coworkers and others. Some examples:

An executive can delegate the scheduling of appointments to an assistant by sharing one of his or her calendars.

A support team can use a shared mail box to allow anyone on the team to respond to emails.

Coworkers can upload documents to a shared Briefcase folder, where all can access them as needed.

You can share your email, address book, calendar, tasks, and briefcase folders with others in your organization, external guests, and the public.  Right-click a folder and choose Share This Folder. In the dialog that appears, specify the type of access permissions to give the Grantee.

You can share with internal users who can be given read-only, read-write, or complete manager access to the folder, external guests that must use a password to view the folder content, and public access so that anyone who has the URL can view the content of the folder.

When internal users share a folder, a copy of the shared folder is put in the Grantee's folder list on the Overview pane. When the folder is selected, the content displays in the Content pane.

The Sharing page under Preferences helps you manage your shared items. This page shows the folders you shared with others and folders that are shared with you.

 

Granting access to your folders

You can share folders with internal users or groups, external guests and the public.

Internal users or groups

You can share with others in your group or company. When you share with internal users or groups, you enter the email addresses and select the type of access to grant, one of:

  • Viewer. The Grantee can view the content in the folder but cannot change the content.  

  • Manager. The Grantee has permissions to view, edit, remove content, accept and decline calendar invitations or requests to share other folders.

  • Admin. The Grantee has full permission to manage the folder, including view, edit, and remove content; accept and decline invitations, share your folder with other people or groups, or revoke access to a shared folder.

  • None. This is an option to temporarily disable access to a grantor's shared folder without revoking the share privileges. The Grantee still has the folder in their list but cannot view or manage activities in the folder.

External guests

You can share with external guests that must use a password to view the folder content. External guests cannot make changes to your folder.

Public URL

Anyone who knows the URL to the folder can view the folder content. The public cannot make any changes to the folder. When you select to share with Public, the URL for that displays in the Share Properties dialog is made accessible to the public.

 

Revoking access to shared folders

You can edit the access rights and revoke permissions at any time from the folder's Edit Properties page or from the Preferences, Sharing folder.